The club officially opened on 30 October 1948 with one bowling green and a tin shed clubhouse, it was exclusively a men’s club with, from 1950, an annual sub of £4. A second green was opened in November 1955, and a new Pavilion in 1960.

A Ladies Club was formally set up
in the early 1960’s initially using the Men’s Club greens until a green of their own was laid on the site of the current volleyball complex. The clubs were amalgamated in 2004.

In 2006 the Club was awarded the New Zealand Club of the Year Award, which was a testament to its progress and success both on and off the green.

A successful 75th anniversary
Gala Dinner at the Club Rooms was attended by 108 members and guests, thanks to the organizing committee led by Gaye Horne with Colleen Rice, Glenda Rountree and Tony Trent.

The evening was catered by Anise Catering and started off with canapés and bubbles courtesy of Jo Mimmack and James Dixon of Harcourts Cooper & Co Mairangi Bay. Kane Steves, aka

the Music Man, did an excellent job of providing the musical entertainment throughout the evening.

Patron and Life Member, Jean Ashby and Life Member John Miles, who at 97 is still playing competitively, cut the cake.

Martin Cooper of Harcourts Cooper & Co, the club’s principal sponsor, was the guest speaker.

A great evening befitting the club reaching its 75th milestone.