Mairangi Bay Surf Lifesaving Club held their annual Senior Club Prizegiving on the 10th of June at the Takapuna Cricket Club. The past season was full of challenges and operational changes which the team took on board and implemented in their daily lifesaving patrols in a mature and professional manner, says the club.

“We are grateful for all the volunteers who contributed their time in helping keep people safe for another season. “A huge thank you to Takapuna Cricket Club for use of their facilities to host the event.”

Mairangi Bay club certainly had a fair amount to be proud of, even with COVID and its many restrictions and cancellations. Surf club members can be proud of the awesome achievements and stats from the 2021/2022 season.

During the season the club completed 5,665.5 patrol hours, 1 Major First Aid, 18 minor First Aids, 4 Callouts, 2 searches and took 194 preventative actions involving 3945 Members of the Public.



On top of that there were another 50 new lifeguards qualified. The results from the club champs can be found below.

To find out more about Mairangi Bay Surf Life Saving Club or to become a lifeguard, please visit

New season registrations for new members will open in the beginning of September 2022.







Anderson Trophy

First Lady - on Handicap

Zoe Crawford

1st Lady Wharf Swim

Fastest Womens Wharf Swim

Zoe Crawford

Ward Cup

Wharf Swim – Handicap

Carissa Billington

Marshall Trophy

Wharf Swim – Fastest Time

Paul van Achterbergh

Redfern Cup

Senior Surf Race

Paul van Achterbergh

Page Cup

Junior Surf Race

Zoe Crawford

Junior Male Sprint

Beach Sprinter (Junior Male)

Ryder Heath

Junior Female Sprint

Beach Sprinter (Junior Female)  

Greer Morley

20th Jubilee Trophy

Beach Sprinter (Male)

Wayne Holroyd

Womens Sprint

Beach Sprinter (Female)

Sam Rowe

Senior Board Club Champs (F)

Board Champ

Emily Glackin

Senior Board Club Champs (M)

Board Champ

Joe Wilson

Senior Ski Club Champs (F)

Ski Champ

Greer Morley

Senior Ski Club Champs (M)

Ski Champ

Jono Reshef


Patrol of the Year

Best Patrol of Year


Turner Trophy

Best Patrol Member

Jaedan Brown

Event Lifeguard of the Year (ELOY)

Best Event Guard

Cory McDonald

U16 Lifeguard of the year

Best U16 Lifeguard

Jack Forsman

U19 Lifeguard of the Year

Best U19 Lifeguard

Joshua Bilyard

Senior Lifeguard of the Year

Best Lifeguard

Fenella Sands


Denis Cooksley Trophy

Surf Official of the Year

Nigel Tizard

Blowfish Award

Best Masters Member

Chris Burns

Best Individual Boatie

Boaties Award

Terry Burbidge

Pauline Wales Cup

Coach of the Year

Danny Morrison, Jason Pocock & Josh Green

Knife & Board

Top Supporter

Tanya Hamilton

Ruddell Cup

Most Improved Junior

Jackson Hamilton

Club Captains Cup

Most Improved Member

Joe Wilson

The Anvil

Best Ironman Performance of the Year (Male or Female)

Zoe Crawford

Dalton Trophy

Best Ski Performance of theYear

Tara Vaughan

Pocock Trophy

Best All Round Competitor U17

Zoe Crawford

Senior's Mug

Best All Round Competitor U19 / Top Junior Competitor

Tara Vaughan

President’s Shield

Best All Round Competitor Open

Danielle McKenzie

Frank Matthew Memorial Trophy

Excellence in Surf Sports

Danielle McKenzie




Founders Cup

Best All Round Male

Joe Wilson

King Shield

Best All Round Member

Marcus Forbes